Epublishing

E-publishing and the Ocean of Options

allretailersSo I have a confession to make in regards to this whole ebook thing.  I thought it’d be easier then it is.  That’s not to say its difficult in regards to getting it out there but there’s a multitude of choices I hadn’t anticipated and no shortage of articles and blogs touting the “what to do or not do” when starting the entire process.  After doing my own research for the past couple of weeks I’ve come to my own determination as to how I plan to get my own work up online.

I decided to go with smashwords.com as an aggregator.  This basically means I’m uploading to them and letting them grind my work out into whatever format is required to get it into a downloadable format for Apple ibooks, Barnes & Noble, Amazon etc.  I picked them for 2 reasons a) they’re free and b) they seem to have the ability to get my book out to the most distributers. Obviously the more readers my book is available too the more potential exposure and income for me.  I investigated the process of not using an aggregator and just loading all my work onto each individual site, as I’ve always been the DIY type of girl, however upon closer examination it was a huge amount of work even for me and I prefer to spend my time writing.

I like the fact that I maintain ultimate control over my work, there’s no long term commitments, and the details of who gets what, and when, money-wise was very up-front and easy to understand.  There doesn’t seem to be any awkward loopholes and that gives me peace of mind.  The last thing I wanted was to somehow, in the future, regret putting my work out there into cyber-space and not be able to do anything about it.

As far as the financials go, I was miffed for a long time (and remain so) that the American IRS has a 30% withholding rate on the profits.  Being a Canadian, it doesn’t feel right at all.  Yes there is an option to submit the correct forms to the American government to prevent this 30% from being withheld, however it doesn’t sit well with me to be submitting such a large portion of my personal and private information to a foreign government.  Alas, I determined to simply raise the price of my books to cover the difference.

So decision made, for better or worse, hopefully I’m on the right track.

One thought on “E-publishing and the Ocean of Options

  1. Reblogged this on Self-Publish 101 and commented:
    I like the fact that I maintain ultimate control over my work, there’s no long term commitments, and the details of who gets what, and when, money-wise was very up-front and easy to understand. There doesn’t seem to be any awkward loopholes and that gives me peace of mind.

Leave a Reply

